Visual Communication: Photo communication and types of photographs. Interpreative

I chose photographer Loretta Lux as my example of interpreative photography. Lux creates suggestions through the use of visual elements and creative techniques.

What Lux’s  portraits of children are supposed to mean are a mystery and Lux doesn’t offer clues. She does however suggest that the images are less about the children than they are a metaphor for the idea of Childhood. “I want people to decide what they see” Loretta Lux.

Loretta Lux’s images are surrealistic. She uses post production techniques to make her subjects (children) have larger than normal hands and eyes.

Loretta Lux’s images represent the interpretive category as she usually visual elements to convey her message or convey an idea or suggestion. She wants the viewer to look at her work and see what they see and not be influenced by her input of what the images are conveying. I personally do not like this images as in my opinion I feel that they turn childhood into something serious and the sense of fun about childhood has been taken away. Maybe this is her intent in the message, that children who are conformed by strict social constructs are unhappy. I feel all of her images have a sense of past to them. The children are dressed in more vintage/older type clothing. I think this adds to my interpretation that maybe the strict social constructs of past generations has influenced her images. I think I am in two minds about her work I feel on one hand I like them because I think she is effectively conveying a message about childhood for some but, on the other hand I don’t enjoy her images as I don’t like the sense of seriousness associated with childhood. I feel these images in a way saddened me to look at because I don’t like viewing images of children with such serious and yet sad faces.

Bibliography:

. 2013. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.www.lorettalux.de/.

Loretta Lux – Wikipedia, the free encyclopaedia. 2013. Loretta Lux – Wikipedia, the free encyclopaedia. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loretta_Lux.

. 2013. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.www.qcp.org.au/artists/international-2/album-334/61loretta

This entry was published on May 17, 2013 at 3:41 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a comment